A Separation (Asghar Faridi)

by Srikanth Mantravadi

Separation_UKI was torn to shreds by the end of this movie. And the more I thought about the innumerable moral complexities that this movie makes us grapple with, the denser it got. It is a masterful, masterful film and I repeat it only because I have no better word to describe it with and no other way to emphasise it. I have decided that any evaluation of the film will have to deal with the questions that the movie so mundanely yet eloquently poses and quite frankly I don’t think I am worthy enough to resolve even one of them. It will only end up spoiling your viewing experience or, even worse, will be the worst attempt at oversimplication ever. Watch it. It is the best movie of the year. One of the very best, absolutely.

PS: And in case you were wondering, I have seen The Tree of Life and Melancholia. That should put things into perspective.

